A Must-Own Reference For All Graphic Design Pros

How do I love thee, Graphics Master, 8th Edition? Let me count the ways. It’s a geeky kind of love, right up there with my love of Star Trek and The Lord of the Rings. This love affair began when I was a young designer in the late 80s. I was an in-house designer at Giorgio Beverly Hills and came across a copy (at the time it was Graphics Master 4) at work one day and immediately thought, Where have you been all my life? Oh how much simpler my work life would have been had I met you earlier.

This book is a comprehensive resource guide filled with virtually every piece of technical data a web and graphic design professional may need and is a must-own for young designers and seasoned professionals alike. Digital imaging, typography specs, measurements, color conversions, dot gain, you name it, GM8 has it.

I read this book like Scotty reads starship technical manuals. Perusing its pages tells me that an A-6 envelope fits into an A-7; I can only saddle stitch about 32 sheets before I need to switch to perfect bound; that Arial is Microsoft’s ugly knock-off of Helvetica (don’t ever use it); a roll fold brochure is a better self-mailer than an accordion fold; the RGB equivalent of a CMYK color I chose; the maximum pixel width of a standard web page. Please let me go on.

I still reference its voluminous archives on a regular basis for much-needed information. Make an investment in your design career and buy this book!

GraphicsMaster8.com

Like this post? share it with someone.

2 Comments

Filed under Book Recommendations, Color, Graphic Design, Printing, Typography

2 responses to “A Must-Own Reference For All Graphic Design Pros

  1. Sheryl Madonna

    Oh, I totally agree with you on the love! Our tools mean so much to us. I still have my proportion wheel from the very beginning. I cannot explain to mere mortals what it means to me.

    • Paul Sanderson

      Thanks for your comment. I don’t love my computer in any way like I loved my old tools. My Rapidograph pens, however, can burn in Hell.

Leave a comment…

